Just another WordPress.com site

Ireland Paintings

I was invited to spend time in residency in the southwestern part of Ireland in this tiny village that sprouted up during the famine. During my stay, the weather was extreme from sunny to stormy with winds howling fiercely, but I was protected in the little stone house. In the month I was there, I was able to produce 35-40 pristine watercolors with a total change of palette from the Barbados watercolors.                 The views were vast, huge and enormous no matter where I looked. The overhead clouds changed quickly making it difficult to paint outside.

Southwest Ireland

Comments on: "Ireland Paintings" (3)

  1. Elizabeth (Betty) Sheridan said:

    Joan, 8 loved your Ireland paintings. I spent two weeks there in April. Our son had rented a house in a Galway suburb (Ardmore, a very pastoral village). Our grandson, Sean, was studying?? (junior year abroad) at the Univ. of Galway. Our third trip to Ireland and probably our last. I took lots of reference pics & painted most days.
    I enjoyed painting with you in Russel & look forward to seeing you next year.
    safe travels.
    Betty Sheridan

  2. Karen Laptew said:

    Love the paintings, oh those skies! Hope to see you in Russell 2016.
    Karen Laptew

    • Thanks for the comment Karen. You can make those skies as well. I doubt that we will get the Russell place for our next workshop. Can you think of a place that is not expensive that we could use? Happy 2016.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

